Salin Bank gives Trine building in downtown Logansport

Trine University has received a building in downtown Logansport from family owned and Indiana-based Salin Bank and Trust Company. The two-story, 15,600-square-foot office building is located in downtown Logansport, Ind.

The appraised value of the transaction, which closed Sept. 11, is $390,000.

“Trine University offers an education you can bank on – and we are very grateful for such a generous donation,” said Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D., Trine University president. “The Salin Bank building provides more space and will be a convenient location for our students in Logansport.”

Salin Bank President and CEO Bill Salin II agrees, adding “Salin Bank is a strong supporter of higher education here in Indiana. This gift is another affirmation of the strong relationship between Salin Bank and the communities and people we serve. We are pleased this facility will now provide students and faculty with a learning environment in which to thrive and grow.”

Trine University will use the former bank building for its Logansport Education Center, a regional campus operated by the institution’s School of Professional Studies. The school has occupied a 3,948-square-foot space at 2815 E. Market St., just east of the Salin Bank building, since May 2010.

Space planning and design currently is underway, with work set to begin in the near future. Trine University plans to relocate to the new downtown building by Jan. 1.

According to Salin Bank, the bank’s Logansport drive-up facility will remain open for customers. In addition, Salin Bank will continue to operate the Logansport Eastgate Banking Center, which is a traditional banking center with a lobby and drive-up options.

About Salin Bank and Trust Company

Salin Bank and Trust Company is one of Indiana’s largest family owned, community banks, with more than $750 million in assets. Salin Bank operates 21 banking locations in 10 Indiana counties serving Columbus, Delphi, Edinburgh, Flora, Fort Wayne, Galveston, Gas City, Kokomo, Lafayette, Logansport, Marion, West Lafayette, Fishers, and Indianapolis.