Trine Theatre announces cast, crew for ‘You Can’t Take It With You’

Fall PlayThe Theatre Department at Trine University has announced the cast and crew for its fall 2021 play, “You Can't Take It With You.”

Performances will be at 7 p.m. Friday, Oct. 22, and 3 and 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 23, in the T. Furth Center for Performing Arts.

Tickets are available at the door or in advance at Prices are $8 general admission, $5 for non-Trine students and free for Trine faculty, staff and students.

Written by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman, “You Can't Take It with You” premiered on Broadway in 1936, and played for 838 performances. The play won the 1937 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, and was adapted for the screen as You Can't Take It with You in 1938. That movie won the Academy Award for Best Picture and Best Director.

A madcap, idealistic comedy that reinforces the idea that you can only live life to the fullest by doing whatever makes you happy, “You Can’t Take It With You” tells the story of G’pa Vanderhof and his wacky family, the Sycamores, who have been happily living their zany lives in his New York house for many years. When practical young Alice Sycamore becomes engaged to her company’s vice president, Tony Kirby, the clan must straighten up to meet the new in-laws.

Cast members are as follows:

G’pa Vanderhof – Blake Williams, an English education major from Elkhart, Indiana

Rheba – Madysen Collins, a forensic science major from Kouts, Indiana. Amelia Mills, an English major from Lebanon, Indiana, is understudy.

Donald – Aidan Smith, a mechanical engineering major from Connersville, Indiana

Penny Sycamore – Kaitlyn Lee, a communication major from San Diego, California. Lydia Roop, a chemical engineering major from Decatur, Indiana, is understudy.

The Grand Duchess Olga Katrina – Lydia Roop. Maggie Buza, a forensic science major from Plymouth, Indiana, is understudy.

Essie – Julia Yagodinski, an elementary education major from Angola, Indiana. Lucia Rodriguez, a forensic science major from Archbold, Ohio, is understudy.

Ed – Sean Carpenter, a mechanical engineering major from Fort Wayne, Indiana

Paul Sycamore – Jaden Hyre, a social studies education major from Fremont, Indiana

Mr. DePinna –Alex Martz, a communication major from Fort Wayne, Indiana

Alice – Kelsey Flowers, a mathematics major from Kenton, Ohio. Madysen Collins is understudy.

Mr. Henderson – Peter Klee, a design engineering technology major from Angola, Indiana.

Tony Kirby – Andrew Guillaume, a business administration major from Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Boris Kolenkhov – Muriel Mackie, a marketing major from Hillsdale, Michigan. Ivy Rubel, a design engineering technology major from Bradner, Ohio, is understudy.

Gay Wellington – Ivy Rubel. Meghan Kruse, a criminal justice major from Auburn, Indiana, is understudy.

Mrs. Kirby – Chantale Leavell, a biochemistry major from Gary, Indiana. Kayla Tillmon, a forensic science major from Sturgis, Michigan, is understudy.

Mr. Kirby – Stephen Cluckey, a communication major from Montpelier, Ohio

Dept. of Justice “The Man” – Maurice Ehichioya, a communication major from Nigeria. Erin Sheets, a forensic science major from Fort Wayne, Indiana, is understudy.

Dept. of Justice Task Force – Anna Dressler, a design engineering technology major from Fort Wayne, Indiana; Amelia Mills; Ashlee Orman, a criminal justice major from Michigan City, Indiana; Erin Sheets; and Kayla Tillmon

The production also includes the following crew members:

Costume Designer – Amelia Mills

Props Master - Kelsey Flowers

Assistant Costumer and Make-up Designer – Meghan Kruse 

Stage Hands – Akanksha Thakur, a communication major from Kalamazoo, Michigan; Anna Dressler; Abby Elwood, an elementary education/special education major from Hamilton, Indiana; Mandi Farmer, a mechanical engineering major from Modoc, Indiana; Amelia Mills; Kayla Tillmon; Darius Surgenavic, a software engineering major from Columbiana, Ohio; and John McClelland, a chemical engineering major from Oak Forest, Illinois

Follow Spot Operator - Dakota Mullen, a civil engineering major from Fishers, Indiana

Theatre Interns – Blake Williams; Taylor Drake, an English major from La Porte, Indiana; Ashlee Orman; and Mason Bledsoe, a software engineering major from Shelburn, Indiana

The play is performed in partnership with Dramatists Play Service.

Last Updated: 09/27/2021