Trine employee contributions highlighted at kick-off conference

August 08, 2016

Trine University has enjoyed a year of record enrollment, financial strength, faculty and students success and facility expansion, with more of the same expected this coming year, President Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D., told faculty and staff Wednesday.

In State of the University remarks welcoming the campus community back during its annual kick-off conference and celebration in the T. Furth Center for Performing Arts, Brooks credited Trine employees — noting that they set a record in annual employee giving with 99 percent participation — for the part they play in the university’s ongoing success.Employee awards

“We are in a relentless chase of perfection – even though we never reach it or catch it – we will achieve excellence,” Brooks said. “As you walk our campus over the next few days, please take a moment to thank and congratulate each other.  You are the people behind the scenes who make this institution what it is today – you are the reason for our success.”

The university also recognized employees for their years of service and welcomed new employees.

Michael Blaz, professor of psychology, was honored for 40 years of service to the university.

Jean Deller, assistant vice president for program development and assessment, and Sue Radtke, administrative assistant for the Wade Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, were recognized for 30 years of service.

Debra Van Rie, faculty athletic representative for the department of mathematics and informatics, was recognized for 25 years of service.

Three employees were recognized for 20 years of service: Terry Dirrim, administrative assistant in Best Hall of Science; Donald Jones, professor of communication; and Lucretia Shank, assistant registrar.

Honors for 15 years of service were given to Kim Bennett, assistant vice president for enrollment management; and Raymond Stuckey, executive director for university advancement.

The following employees were recognized for 10 years of service: Kyle Aldrich, associate director of financial aid; Susan Anspaugh, lecturer in the Ketner School of Business; Brett Batson, associate professor in the Wade Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering; Tammy Bowen, director of residence life; Haseeb Kazi, associate professor of mathematics; Matt Land, assistant vice president of athletics; Darryl Webber, associate professor and chair of the Wade Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering; and Christina Zumbrun, associate professor of mathematics.

These employees were recognized for five years of service: Kodi Buell, director of online learning; Robyn Coatney, staff accountant, accounts payable; Michael Eckerle, campus safety officer; Jesse Engle, maintenance technician; Robyn Hinman, office manager, Campus Operations; Jeremy Howard, assistant coordinator, Student Success Initiative; Kyle Lindsay, assistant men’s basketball coach; Brooks Miller, basketball coach; Gretchen Miller, assistant to the president/chief of staff; Kiwon Park, assistant professor of mechanical engineering; Jean Ruppert-Boling, assistant vice president for enrollment, College of Graduate and Professional Studies; Renee Shipe, assistant registrar; Leslie Sidwell, programmer analyst, Information Technology; Nancy Steigmeyer, senior director, graduate studies; and Maurice Waugh, assistant football coach.

The university welcomed these new employees, hired within the last year: Sarah Algaradi, international admission counselor; Jacob Bagley, senior admission counselor; Brock Baker, maintenance technician; Michelle Blank, information services librarian; Justin Bock, assistant professor, graduate school; Angela Booth, director of housing; Gregory Brooks, director, Master of Science in Engineering Management; Twana Burney, graduate advisor, Fort Wayne Education Center; Thomas Cantrell, counselor; Corinne Conant, housekeeper; Dan Dobbs, assistant professor of mathematics; Mark Dollinger, campus director, South Bend Education Center; Samuel Drerup, assistant professor of science; Madeline Dugan, head women’s lacrosse coach; Calvin Faulkner, maintenance technician; Travis Foster, associate director of admission; Heather Gaff, financial aid counselor; Jeanette Goddard, assistant professor of humanities; Alexander Goplin, assistant director of admissions; Brittney Harvey, assistant softball coach; Chauncy Henze, housekeeping; Hannah Hewes, enrollment specialist, Fort Wayne Education Center; Thomas Hofman, head women’s NCAA Division III ice hockey coach; David Jarzyna, vice president, university marketing and communications; David Kamer, Help Desk specialist; Mahesh Khadka, assistant professor, software engineering; Heather Kim, assistant vice president, Peoria, Arizona campus; Emily Kleinschmidt, assistant director of accountability; Christian Klink, grounds; Gregory Knauer, enrollment specialist, Angola Education Center; Jonathon Knowlton, grounds; Erin Kolar, head men’s and women’s tennis coach; Kevin Kraner, enrollment specialist, Fort Wayne Education Center; Benjamin Kroll, housekeeper; Dawn LaBarbera, professor of physician assistant studies; Brett Lancaster, painter; Amanda Leininger, staff accountant; Zheng Liu, international admission counselor; Rebekah Magers, instructional design and Moodle administrator; Leslie Martinez, enrollment specialist, Columbus Education Center; Dan Mayer, head men’s hockey coach, ACHA Division II; Jeff McGowan, assistant professor, Ketner School of Business; Colin Meadowcroft, digital multimedia specialist; Audrey Oliver, enrollment specialist, South Bend Education Center; Ashley Overton, assistant professor of education; Catherine Porter, admission counselor; Justine Rennecker, housekeeper; Patrick Ridout, information services librarian; Mark Roselli, associate professor, Putra International College; David Schmucker, maintenance technician; Calvin Skinner, area coordinator, student services; Kelsey Smart, enrollment specialist, Peoria, Arizona campus; Sheldon Smith, building mechanic; Elizabeth Sparks, admission assistant, Peoria, Arizona campus; Lauren Tait, enrollment specialist, Indianapolis Education Center; Irene Taylor, housekeeper; James Tew, director of communications; Sheri Thomson, administrative assistant, Reiners Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering and Department of Design Engineering Technology; Alex Todd, head men’s NCAA Division III ice hockey coach; Alison Todd, assistant professor of education; Susana Torres, director of enrollment, Peoria, Arizona campus; Kayla Warren, controller; Jason Watson, employment specialist; Tommy White, assistant professor, Design Engineering Technology; Linda Wilde, area coordinator, student services; Donna Wyse, instructor, criminal justice; Godfred Yamoah, assistant professor of mathematics; and Sarah Zimmer, lecturer, humanities.

News Information

Read More

All News

Fort Wayne base commander speaks to Hoosier Boys State

June 20, 2024

Col. Joshua C. Waggoner, commander of the 122nd Fighter Wing, Fort Wayne Air National Guard Base, speaks Thursday, June 20, to attendees at the 85th annual Hoosier Boys State on the Trine University campus.