Read about the Trine University health and safety measures –

Trine offers support for students who earn Work Ethic Certificate

Work ethic

Trine University has established a $500 activity award, renewable each year for up to four years, for students who earn the Governor’s Work Ethic Certificate.

Trine will begin promoting the scholarship to high school seniors this fall. The certificate recognizes Indiana students who have developed employability skills that will assist them in meeting college and career goals, as determined by Hoosier employers, community-based organizations and post-secondary education institutions.

“We are extremely excited about Trine University supporting the Governor’s Work Ethic Certificate,” said J.D. Dubes, technical advisor to the Department of Workforce Development for the Governor’s Work Ethic Certificate. “I believe this shows a commitment to students who can demonstrate they have the soft skills needed to be successful no matter what their career path after high school.”

Trine is only one of three postsecondary institutions in Indiana to offer incentives or scholarships to students who receive the award.

About 17,000 high school students in 100 Indiana schools participated in programs last year to earn the certificate, which recognizes soft skills such as persistence, respectfulness, community service, initiative, dependability, academic readiness and reliability. The certificate was developed with support of the State Workforce Innovation Council, which views it as an important tool in providing a pipeline of skilled high school graduates into today’s workforce.

Photo: From left, seated, Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D., Trine University president, and J.D. Dubes, technical advisor to the Department of Workforce Development for the Governor’s Work Ethic Certificate, sign an agreement establishing a $500 Trine University activity award for high school students who earn the certificate. Standing are Scott Goplin, vice president for enrollment management, and Heather Kim, assistant vice president and dean of admission. (Photo by Dean Orewiler)