Education One at Trine University shares Annual Performance Report for the 2022-2023 school year

February 21, 2024

Education One, Trine University’s charter school authorizer, has released its Annual Performance Report and stakeholder survey data for the 2022-2023 school year, reflecting growth in both the number of schools in its portfolio and the satisfaction of those it serves.

With 11 school networks and nearly 4,000 students statewide in the 2022-23 school year, Education One schools reach every corner of the state and represent diverse communities and needs. Montessori, Project-Based Learning, STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) and virtual model schools are included within its portfolio, providing unique, innovative learning opportunities for Indiana students and families.

In 2022-23, the authorizer’s portfolio of schools included Timothy L. Johnson Academy and Timothy L. Johnson Academy Middle School in Fort Wayne; Thea Bowman Leadership Academy in Gary; Dynamic Minds Academy and The Nature School of Central Indiana in Indianapolis; Lawrence County Independent Schools in Bedford; Success Academy Primary School, Career Academy Middle School and Career Academy High School in South Bend; and two statewide virtual schools, Phalen Virtual Leadership Academy and Paramount Online Academy.

In alignment with  Education One’s Guiding Principles, the core values that drive decision making, the authorizer has continued to advance in the charter school space.

Education One values partnerships and collaboration with Trine University partners and charter schools throughout the state. During the 2022-2023 school year, Education One offered 20+ free dual enrollment courses for high school students and hosted over 1,500 students for STEM Camps.

Additionally, the authorizer worked to develop an Instant Admission program for Education One charter high school students that allows them discounted rates for additional Dual Enrollment courses, testing entrance requirements waived, merit-based scholarships offered to each student, individually, upon matriculation, and access to a University Student Success Coach. On top of that, an $18,000 Annual Co-branded Scholarship is offered to one student annually who decides to attend Trine University.

On a state and national level, Education One expanded its presence and became a recognized member of The National Charter School Institute’s A-GAME Coalition of Early Adopters. This group focuses on measuring school performance in an equitable way, while maintaining high expectations for schools.

In the stakeholder survey, 82.7% of those responding reported they were “very satisfied” with the partnership between Education One and their school. In addition, 17.3% reported they were “satisfied.” The survey had a 74% participation rate from stakeholders including board members, school employees and education service provider representatives.

Samantha Bandy, Education Director at Dynamic Minds Academy, shared in the report “You are the most hands-on, data-driven authorizer in the state and should be a model for other authorizers. Thank you for holding us all accountable!” 

Currently, Education One has 15 charter schools statewide, with three additional schools slated to open in fall 2024.

To learn more about Education One, visit

News Information

News Story Type

News Story

Read More

All News
Dan Rooney

Rooney to address Trine University Angola, Fort Wayne graduates

April 22, 2024

Lt. Col. Dan Rooney, PGA professional and fighter pilot who now leads efforts to assist families of disabled or deceased service members and first responders, will share his insights on leadership and purpose with Trine University graduates during the morning Commencement ceremony on May 4.

Vipul Shah

Shah to address hybrid, online graduates

April 22, 2024

Vipul Shah, a 1996 Trine University chemical engineering graduate who is now a highly regarded wealth advisor for Morgan Stanley Smith Barney, will present the keynote address to Trine’s hybrid and online students at the afternoon Commencement ceremony on May 4.