Nine squads compete in annual TEAMS event at Trine

March 22, 2013

ANGOLA, Ind. – Nine area teams recently competed at Trine University during an annual competition designed to help middle and high school students discover their potential for engineering.

Teams from Indiana and Michigan competed in TEAMS (Tests of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics and Science). The theme for the competition was "Engineering A Secure Cyberspace," on Feb. 19 and 21, during National Engineering Week.

Using science, technology, engineering, mathematics and 21st century learning skills, students work collaboratively to solve real-world engineering challenges.

The winner for Division I was Kalamazoo (Mich.) Area Math & Science team. Two teams of ninth- and 10-graders representing Kalamazoo Christian and Penn High School, Mishawaka, tied to win Division II.

Those on the winning Kalamazoo Area Math & Science team are Brice Calco, Abhay Goel, Phoebe Huang, Abhiram Krishnan, Austin Lovins, Helena Mills, Rachel Polus and Genevieve Sertic.

Members of the Kalamazoo Christian team that tied for Division II are Tyler Boes, Joe Brouwer, Sam Brouwer, Morgan French, Allison Watson, Josh Wenke, Mitch Westendorp and Kevin Wunderly.

Members of the Penn High School team that tied for Division II are Paul Kwak, Casey LeeVan, Molly Schrager, Julie Stevenson, Rachel Susler, Stephanie Tapp, Disha Waghray and Kevin Wang.

Other teams that participated:

Canterbury High School, Fort Wayne -- Angela Collins, Walter Li, David Pan, Tan Phan, Mingchen Sun, Michael Wang, Thomas Zhong and Honghan Zhu.

Kalamazoo Christian 11th- and 12th-grade team, Kalamazoo, Mich.  – Natalie Deering, Tess DeJong, Rachel Hoekstra, Kate McLain, Justin Richardson, Joel Stehouwer, Nolan Stoffer and Guanjia Wang.

Kalamazoo Math & Science, Kalamazoo, Mich. – Jon Brelje, Sujay Dewan, Angus Gibbs, Gagan Gupta, Katie Lee, Amber Salome, Raoul Wadhwa and Taryn Withers.

Fremont High School, Fremont – Sidney Dunn, Tom Dziaba, Kasey Renfrew, Zach Roebel, Arman Salim, Lexi Skeens, Kodey Smith and Mitch VanZuilen.

Penn High School, team A, Mishawaka – Billy Holbert, Stephan Hu, Kevin Latimer, Timothy Liu, Emily Song, Harisa Spahic, Madison Strainis and Nithin Varadharajan.

Penn High School, team B, Mishawaka – Rod Baradaran, Brandon Beery, Thomas Bowers, AJ Edelbrock, Brian Kempa, Paul Lee, Austin Raffelock and Andrew Whiteman.

News Information

Read More

All News