Trine kicks off 2015-16 academic year

August 18, 2015

Scott Goplin 08.18.15

Trine University started the new academic year with a kick-off conference for faculty and staff this morning (Aug. 18).

Though the school is poised for yet another record number of new students, which includes growth in the number of international students, Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D., Trine president encouraged everyone to continue to seek improvement while maintaining a high level of service for Trine students. "Have fun with what we've become but continue to be aggressively looking forward," Brooks told his team.

He also praised everyone for their contributions to students and the success of the university, noting "everybody has an impact on the life a student" and "people make this institution a success."

Among highlights mentioned by Brooks:

~ The new Reiners Residence Hall for 170 students, some of whom have already moved in;

~ Ford Hall, home of the Ketner School of Business;

~ The fact that 97 percent of Trine employees participate in the annual campaign; the national average is 35 percent as reported by CASE (Council for Advancement and Support of Education);

~ More than $25 million in capital investments, including Reiners and Ford halls, and all of which is debt free.

Scott Goplin, vice president of University Marketing and Communications, opened the annual event and named those who marked milestone years of service.

The following individuals were honored.

Five years

Amy Alexander – associate professor, Franks School of Education

Mersiha Alic – dean, School of Professional Studies

James Canino – associate professor, Wade Department Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Allen School of Engineering & Technology

Kristin Conley – director, Warsaw Education Center

Linda Conley – assistant professor, Ketner School of Business

Andrea DeLancey – director, Dual Enrollment program

Nandan Garg – assistant professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Allen School of Engineering & Technology

Bob Keller – director, Office of Alumni & Development

Gail Lugo – director, English as a Second Language (ESL) program

Kerry Miller – groundskeeper

Amy Nicholls – instructor and chair, Department of Humanities and Communication, Jannen School Arts & Sciences

Jeremy Rentz – associate professor, Reiners Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Allen School Engineering & Technology

Brandon Speith – director, Fort Wayne Regional Campus

Kent Stucky – vice president, Alumni & Development

Cathy Swick – associate professor and chair, Department of Exercise Science, Jannen School of Arts & Sciences

Brian Thomas – assistant professor, Department of Design Engineering Technology, Allen School of Engineering & Technology

Jamie Wozniak – head coach, women’s volleyball, assistant athletic director/senior women's administrator

Ten years

Tim Carver – assistant professor, Department of Mathematics & Informatics, Jannen School Arts & Sciences

Chad Keefer – assistant professor, Department of Science, Jannen School Arts & Sciences

Jake Kinsey – offensive coordinator/wide receiver coach, football

Kelly McGuire – director, financial aid

Nancy Roberts – assistant to the vice president for Alumni & Development

Randy White – vice president, Student Services

Fifteen years

Lynda Crawford – senior staff accountant, employee reimbursement, business office

Camilla Hukill – custodian

Andrea Smith – director of business services, business office

Dan Zimmerman – equipment technician

Twenty years

Michael Biegas – assistant professor, Department of Criminal Justice, Psychology & Social Sciences, Jannen School of Arts & Sciences

Sharon Frasier – custodian

Deborah McHenry – executive director of Student Success & Retention, student and parent advocate

Graydon Rose – custodian

Lorrie Simmons – senior student accounts administrator, business office

Tim Tyler – associate dean, Allen School of Engineering & Technology; professor, Reiners Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Allen School

Twenty-five years

Sean Carroll – professor, electrical engineering, Allen School of Engineering & Technology; associate dean, College of Engineering and Business

Emily K. Chancellor – administrative assistant, Departments of Mathemetics & Informatics, Sciences, Humanities and Communication, Jannen School of Arts & Sciences

Deb Strong – administrative assistant, McKetta Department of Chemical & Bioprocess Engineering, Allen School of Engineering & Technology

Thirty years

Ann Benson – associate professor, Department of Science, Jannen School Arts & Sciences

Many of the service award recipients pose after the 2015 kick-off conference. Photo by Dean Orewiler, photographer.

News Information

Read More

All News
Bo Jackson speaking at Trine Universities 20th Annual Scholarship Gala.

Bo Jackson gives back at Trine Scholarship Gala

February 16, 2024

It was a successful celebration for both Bo Jackson and supporters of Trine University as the annual Scholarship Gala raised nearly $2 million on Feb. 10, the largest amount raised since the event’s inception in 2004. The renowned athlete left the event not only knowing Trine, but leaving a lasting impact on the university and on those who heard him speak.