Order of Engineer ceremony recognizes 23 new engineers

May 06, 2015

Order of the Engineer

Twenty-three seniors in Trine University's Allen School of Engineering & Technology were inducted into the Order of the Engineer during a ring ceremony on Wednesday afternoon (May 6).

The ring ceremony is the public induction of candidates into the Order of the Engineer, an organization that fosters a spirit of pride and responsibility in the engineering profession, bridges the gap between training and experience and presents to the public a visible symbol identifying the engineer, according to the organization.

During the ceremony, engineering students are invited to accept the Obligation of the Engineer and a stainless steel ring is placed on the smallest finger of the working hand. The obligation is a creed similar to the oath attributed to Hippocrates that is generally taken by medical graduates and which sets forth an ethical code. The obligation contains parts of the Canon of Ethics of major engineering societies and initiates pledges to uphold the standards and dignity of the engineering profession and to serve humanity by making the best use of Earth's resources, according to the Order of the Engineer website.

"As you go out there, keep Trine in your minds" and help make it better for future students, said Allen Hersel, dean of the College of Engineering and Business.

VK Sharma, dean of the Allen School, welcomed the new engineers to the profession. "Only 4 percent of students graduating are engineers so it's good for you," he said, noting there will be more and more demand for engineers.

Engineers who participated in the ceremony include:

Chemical engineers

Leisha Beutler

Clint Boelt

Kyla Dietrich

Lindsee Fancher

Kelli Hogenkamp

Kyle McDowell

David Molnar

Amy Newell

Zachary Titkemeier

Gina Wagner

Civil engineers

Alexandrea Ziaya

Jonathan Ritter

Jennifer Semock

Computer engineer

Kyler Koets

Electrical engineers

William Leismer

Victoria Weisenberger

Mechanical engineering

Zachary Carder

Kyle Craig

Louis Danesi

Maxwell Frame

Jeffrey Perkey

Justin Smith

Pravendran Taseandram

News Information

Read More

All News
Keirsten Eberts

Eberts honored with Forty Under 40

April 16, 2024

Keirsten Eberts, vice president of online and international studies at Trine University, was selected to Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly’s 19th annual Forty Under 40.

Erika Kendall

Trine grad excels at Rolls-Royce

April 16, 2024

Her desire to learn more about protecting the environment led her to pursue a degree in chemical engineering.