Two more Trine students receive Space Grant scholarships

August 26, 2016

In a second round of awards for the 2016-17 school year, the Indiana Space Grant Consortium (INSGC) has awarded scholarships to two Trine University students

Laura Rosekrans, a senior biology major from Williamston, Michigan, and Kaethe Henke, a senior design engineering technology major from Davenport, Iowa, will each receive a $1,500 scholarship from the Indiana Space Grant Consortium (INSGC) for study at Trine.

In the first round announced earlier in the summer, the INSGC awarded four scholarships to Trine University students. The total of six, for $9,000 in total scholarship aid, is the most students at Trine University have ever received.

A total of 15 Trine students have received the scholarships over the past five years.

“The fact that the Indiana Space Grant Consortium chose to award these additional scholarships speaks volumes about the fantastic students we have here at Trine University,” said James Canino, Ph.D., associate professor in the Wade Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

To qualify, students must be attending an INSGC affiliate institution, be a U.S. citizen, enrolled in good standing as an undergraduate throughout the scholarship period and major in a science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) discipline or STEM education.

The Indiana Space Grant Consortium was created in 1991 under NASA’s National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program. The Space Grant national network includes organizations working to expand opportunities for Americans to learn about and participate in NASA’s aeronautics and space projects by supporting and enhancing science and engineering education, research and public outreach efforts.

News Information

Read More

All News

Fort Wayne base commander speaks to Hoosier Boys State

June 20, 2024

Col. Joshua C. Waggoner, commander of the 122nd Fighter Wing, Fort Wayne Air National Guard Base, speaks Thursday, June 20, to attendees at the 85th annual Hoosier Boys State on the Trine University campus.