Students earn scholarships to Trine

February 01, 2016

winning math team

By Cody Konieczki
communication '17

FEB. 1 – Trine University awarded six scholarships to students and $1,750 in prize money to three teachers during its recent 41st Annual High School Mathematics Competition.

The mathematics competition took place Wednesday, Jan. 27 and nearly 200 students from 22 schools in Indiana, Michigan and Ohio participated in the event.

The competition consisted of individual and team competitions for students. Both individual and team competitions placed first through third. In individual competition, students competed in advanced or elementary mathematics. A total of 49 teams competed in the team competition. Awards were given to the teachers of the top three teams and to the top individual competitors in advanced and elementary levels.

Team winners are:

First place – Aidan Gonzales, Reed Oei, Love Osunnuga and Tom Sawyer from Saint Joseph High School South Bend, Ind. Each student was awarded a $3,000 scholarship to Trine. The students’ teacher is Brett Goodrich and he was awarded $1,000.

Second place – William Odebrecht, Aman Patel, Sharon Wang and Micah Yoder from Northridge High School in Middlebury, Ind. The students’ teacher is Sam Powell and she was awarded $500.

Third place – Truman Bennet, Nicholas Spitzer, Zachary Spitzer and Elisabeth Wuertley from Marion High School in Marion, Ind. The students’ teacher is Doug Porter and he was awarded $250.

Individual winners are:

First place for individual elementary – Ischuk Yevheniya from Bronson High School Bronson, Mich. She was awarded a $5,000 scholarship to Trine.

First place for individual advanced – Truman Bennet from Marion. He was awarded a $5,000 scholarship to Trine.

Second place for individual elementary – Elizabeth Wuertley from Marion.

Second place for individual advanced – Love Osunnuga from Saint Joseph.

Third place for individual elementary – Micah Yoder from Northridge.

Third place for individual advanced – Aidan Gonzales from Saint Joseph.

Photo: Saint Joseph High School in South Bend won first place in the team competition. Team members from left are Reed Oey, Tom Sawyer, Love Osunnuga and Aidan Gonzales. Each student won a $3,000 Trine scholarship and their teacher, Brett Goodrich, won $1,000. Photo by Cody Konieczski 

News Information

Read More

All News

Buffett tribute coming to Trine on July 12

May 30, 2024

The music of Jimmy Buffett will come to Trine University’s T. Furth Center for Performing Arts when Adventures in Parrotdise, a full production tribute show, takes the stage on July 12.