Trine inducts 35 into Order of the Engineer

May 04, 2018

Thirty-five seniors in Trine University’s Allen School of Engineering & Technology were inducted into the Order of the Engineer during a recent ceremony.

The following students participated in the May 2 ring ceremony in Best Hall:

  • Saif Almutairi, civil engineering, Hafr Al Batin, Saudi Arabia
  • Devin Anderson, mechanical engineering, Hillsdale, Michigan
  • Adrea Ayres, mechanical engineering, Willowick, Ohio
  • Bret Balka, chemical engineering, LaGrange, Indiana
  • Alexander Bourke, civil engineering, Anderson, Indiana
  • Jedidiah Bowen, chemical engineering, Hamilton, Indiana
  • Trevor Creager, civil engineering, South Bend, Indiana
  • Kelsey Cumberworth, electrical engineering, Versailles, Indiana
  • Christopher Ferguson, mechanical engineering, Shelbyville, Indiana
  • Jacob Forsyth, mechanical engineering, Howell, Michigan
  • Austin Glynn, mechanical engineering, Decatur, Michigan
  • Stephen Graham, mechanical engineering, Avilla, Indiana
  • Austin Gurley, civil engineering, Collinsville, Oklahoma
  • Andrew Hauersperger, civil engineering, South Bend, Indiana
  • Chad Holdwick, civil engineering, Brighton, Michigan
  • Taylor Howard, mechanical engineering, Sherwood, Michigan
  • Riley Johns, chemical engineering, Lakewood, Ohio
  • Joseph Lancaster, civil engineering, Colliers, West Virginia
  • Megan Manes, chemical engineering, Andrews, Indiana
  • Miguel Martinez, computer engineering, Pickens, South Carolina
  • Francisco Perez, civil engineering, South Bend, Indiana
  • Richard Perry, civil engineering, Lizton, Indiana
  • Alex Portolese, computer engineering, Granger, Indiana
  • Braydon Poulson, civil engineering, Warren, Indiana
  • Anas Qari, chemical engineering, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • Lucas Richardson, civil engineering, Brethren, Michigan
  • Jacob Shelley, civil engineering, Brownsburg, Indiana
  • Zechariah Skorka, chemical engineering, Snohomish, Washington
  • Gage Tester, electrical engineering, New Whiteland, Indiana
  • Rebecca Thornsen, mechanical engineering, Osceola, Indiana
  • Josiah Ward, electrical engineering, Greenfield, Indiana
  • Sarah Westman, electrical engineering, Portage, Michigan
  • Bradley Whitehead, civil engineering, Elkhart, Indiana
  • Raleigh Whitham, chemical engineering, LaFontaine, Indiana
  • Anndi Wood, chemical engineering, Danville, Indiana

The ring ceremony is the public induction of candidates into the Order of the Engineer, a fellowship of engineers who are trained in science and technology and dedicated to the practice, teaching or administration of their profession.

During the ceremony, engineering students are invited to accept the Obligation of the Engineer and a stainless steel ring is placed on the smallest finger of the working hand. The obligation is a formal statement of an engineer’s responsibilities to the public and to the profession. Both the order and the obligation serve to stimulate public recognition by engineers of two basic principles: that the primary purpose of the engineering profession is the protection of the public health, safety and welfare; and that all members of the engineering profession share a common bond.

Trine University conducted its first ring ceremony in November 1978.

Photo: Front, from left, Jacob Forsyth, Stephen Graham, Adrea Ayres, Rebecca Thornsen, Megan Manes, Anndi Wood, Devin Anderson, Josiah Ward, Sarah Westman, Miguel Martinez; middle, Chad Holdwick, Taylor Howard, Christopher Ferguson, Raleigh Whitham, Richard Perry; back, Joseph Lancaster, Jacob Shelley, Austin Glynn, Bret Balka, Lucas Richardson, Anas Qari, Braydon Poulson, Alexander Bourke, Francisco Perez, Jedidiah Bowen, Riley Johns, Alex Portolese, Gage Tester. Not pictured: Saif Almutairi, Trevor Creager, Kelsey Cumberworth, Austin Gurley, Andrew Hauersperger, Zechariah Skorka, Bradley Whitehead.

News Information

Read More

All News