Franks School of Education announces awards for Class of 2020

Trine University’s Franks School of Education has honored several members of the graduating Class of 2020.

Alexa Ratkowski, an elementary education/special education dual licensure major from Bronson, Michigan, is the recipient of the Dr. Sue Van Wagner Excellence in Education Award. Named in honor of Sue Van Wagner, Ph.D., former dean of the Franks School of Education, the award is presented to a graduating education student who exemplifies dedication, determination and teaching effectiveness.

Four students received the Kent and Eileen Alwood Award for Student Teaching Excellence, given for exemplary performance in student teaching, specifically excellence in teaching knowledge, skills and professional disposition:

  • Renee Souva, an elementary education major from Bronson, Michigan
  • Andrea Oster, an elementary education major from Waterloo, Indiana
  • Shae Pettibone, an English education from Fort Wayne, Indiana
  • Brooke Wilber, an elementary education from LaOtto, Indiana

“We are pleased to recognize these outstanding graduates, who represent excellence in our teacher preparation program,” said Anthony Kline, Ph.D., dean of the school. “This spring has demonstrated the unprecedented challenges today’s educators face, and Trine University is proud to help meet the need for teachers who are flexible problem-solvers and equip student learning despite the circumstances.”

Last Updated: 06/17/2020