Five Trine civil engineering students earn Asphalt Pavement Association of Indiana scholarships

February 09, 2022

INDIANAPOLIS — The Asphalt Pavement Association of Indiana (APAI) has named Trine University students Noah Ballard of Tipp City, Ohio, Jacob Barkey of Auburn, Indiana, Hannah Murray of Shelbyville, Indiana, Benjamin Stoffel of Andrews, Indiana, and Ryan Wisman of Bronson, Michigan, as 2021 APAI Scholars.

All civil engineering majors, the students were recognized during the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Scholarship Awards Banquet, held in conjunction with the 2021 APAI Winter Conference and Expo on Dec. 16, 2021, at the Marriott East Hotel in Indianapolis.

Scholarships are awarded by the APAI Scholarship Committee to students studying construction management, civil engineering and construction engineering and management at six nationally accredited Indiana universities, including Trine University. Students must complete an in-person interview with members of the Scholarship Committee to receive an award.

The total amount of scholarships awarded in 2021 by the association totaled $50,000 to deserving scholars, in anticipation that many recipients will remain in Indiana and seek employment opportunities with APAI's member contractors.

Photo: From left, Jay Smitley of Milestone Contractors, chair of the Scholarship Committee for the Asphalt Pavement Association of Indiana (APAI); Trine University civil engineering majors Noah Ballard, Hannah Murray, Ryan Wisman and Jacob Barkey; and Bill Stevens of Brooks Construction, past president of the APAI Board of Directors. Not pictured: Benjamin Stoffel.

Last Updated: 02/09/2022

News Information

News Story Type

News Story


Read More

All News