Administrator at Trine-authorized charter school named Principal of the Year

May 09, 2022

Marisa SimmonsGARY, Ind. — The principal at Thea Bowman Leadership Academy in Gary, Indiana, has been named High School Principal of the Year for the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP) District 1.

Marisa Simmons has worked at Thea Bowman since 2007, serving as an elementary school teacher, middle school teacher and assistant principal before becoming principal in 2017.

Thea Bowman Leadership Academy is sponsored by Trine University’s charter school authorizer, Education One.

The IASP annually recognizes outstanding school leaders in each of its 12 Indiana districts who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students. The organization says these principals are acknowledged by their peers for the exemplary contributions they have made to the profession.

Recipients will be honored at the organization’s annual Fall Professionals Conference on Nov. 20.

The Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP) is a not-for-profit, professional association serving more than 3,300 building-level administrators in Indiana. IASP provides professional growth and advocacy opportunities, supporting principals and other school administrators in their quest to lead educational achievement. Additionally, IASP offers student academic competitions at all levels — giving Indiana students the opportunity to shine in their academic pursuits.

Last Updated: 05/09/2022

News Information

News Story Type

News Story


Read More

All News
Vipul Shah

Shah to address hybrid, online graduates

April 22, 2024

Vipul Shah, a 1996 Trine University chemical engineering graduate who is now a highly regarded wealth advisor for Morgan Stanley Smith Barney, will present the keynote address to Trine’s hybrid and online students at the afternoon Commencement ceremony on May 4.

Dan Rooney

Rooney to address Trine University Angola, Fort Wayne graduates

April 22, 2024

Lt. Col. Dan Rooney, PGA professional and fighter pilot who now leads efforts to assist families of disabled or deceased service members and first responders, will share his insights on leadership and purpose with Trine University graduates during the morning Commencement ceremony on May 4.

Hear My Voice

Winners honored in Trine writing competition

April 19, 2024

Trine University and the Amy Salyer-Nicholls Writing Center honored the winners of the annual Hear My Voice writing competition on April 11 in Wells Theater.